The second largest town on Kefalonia is Lixouri and found on the Pali peninsula, which forms the southwestern side of Kefalonia. There are plenty of tavernas to choose from along the sea front and the square hosts some lovely cafes. The Lakovatios Library and Museum has a garden which occasionally hosts cultural events during the summer. A regular ferry connects Lixouri and Argostoli with sailings every half hour during high season and hourly at other times of the year. Tickets are purchased on board.
The town was totally rebuilt after the earthquake and now has 4000 inhabitants. A statue is situated on the sea front of Andreas Laskaratos, a satirical poet born in Lixouri. The statue is positioned with his back to Argostoli. As such was his love of his birthplace, he stated in one of his poems ‘when God created the world, Lixouri first and then all the rest of the earth’.
Around the Villages
The villages on the Pali peninsular all have different characteristics and a visit to Kaminarata could result in a meze, home-made wine, fantastic scenery and friendly service from a local taverna whereas Rifi is a pretty village that is a photographers dream.
The village of Mihalitsata is passed on the way to the famous Xi beach. Situated on the top of a hill, with amazing views of the coastline, bay and in the distance the small island of Vardiani.
Passing then through Soulari and Mantzavinata, home of the Vitoratos winery, then down to XI beach to be entranced by the red sand and clay cliffs. A perfect place to eat in one of the family run tavernas, relax, sunbathe and swim in the crystal clear water. Almost touching the island of Vardinani, a rowing boat can be hired to travel the 500 metres to it. Following the signs, and just along the coast from Xi beach, is Vatsa beach. This is the secret gem of the Pali peninsula and used since Roman times. In two parts, the lovely laid back sandy beach has a delightful taverna directly on one side.
The journey to the Kipouria monastery is lovely passing through Vouni and then Havriata a pretty village known as the balcony of the Ionian as the panoramic views are so lovely. Currently only one monk lives at the Monastery, Father Eusevios, who has dedicated to rebuilding the monastery buildings that were destroyed in the 1953 earthquake. Called ‘Kipouria’ due to the many gardens looked after by the Holy Fathers to enable them to be self-sufficient, the monastery is found on the edge of a precipice. The monastery was founded in 1750 by the archbishop of Paxi, Chrisanthos Petropoulos, and dedicated to the Annunciation to the Virgin.
Join the feast
Visitors are welcome to visit the Monastery on the feast days of 25th March and 14th September, a great opportunity to experience traditional Kefalonian songs and dances.
It is a very special place with fantastic views of the rugged coastline, white cliffs and the exquisite variety of colours of the sea.